Silent Music

Music is the theme of today's Mono Monday challenge hosted by WetcoastBob. The minute I heard that I decided I needed to blip the back of the tuner in our hifi setup. Why? Because it died. Or I think it did. I'm still doing diagnostics. We have recently had a long spate of things conking out at our house. It has been almost laughable except for the massive bill that has built up since it all started.

Last Monday we arrived home from our weekend in Victoria. As soon as we walked in the door the phone rang and it was Carroll who had been watching our house and feeding the cats. "Have you looked at the sink yet?" she asked. We hadn't. We did and found it well and fully stopped up. We tried to get our usual handy friend Ric but he was out of town. So a visit by a local plumbing company and $350 later we had our sink back.

That evening the outlet that powers our telephone died. We soon realized it was one of three in the kitchen that were dead. I tried all the circuit breakers with no success. I got an extension chord and got the phone back on line. By then Ric was back and he came over the next day to fix the power. Turned out one of the circuit breaker outlets was dead and it took down the other two. All of the outlets in the kitchen were 24 years old and needed to be replaced. While he was doing that he noticed that an important part of our garage door opener was broken...

He called Overhead Door and got a replacement part, a newer version so he had to drill new holes to install it, and he fixed that. Total of all that work was over $500. Yikes.

Phew we thought. That was a spate of work and breakdowns in our 24 year old house. So we settled down to watch some evening TV and the tuner just kept projecting "Protector" and would not work. Sheesh! So I googled that and found out that the circuit protector had been triggered. Maybe it was due to all the electrical fiddling. I followed the simple steps by unplugging it and waiting a day. Nope. Still "Protector". So now I have removed all of the connected wires (and labeled them so I can put them back), unplugged the tuner and we wait another day. If we plug it in with nothing attached and "Protector" is still there, it is dead. I so hope that is not the case as we are pretty tapped out at this point.

So currently we are living with silent music. I was able to get TV sound by turning back on its internal speakers, but our lovely DVD music is gone for now. For awhile there I was considering moving somewhere and leaving the house to take care of itself. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.