Berry happy birdie!

This is one of a sequence of photos I took as I watched a pair of birds picking blackberries. I think they're juvenile starlings. Each time this one found a berry, he flew down to the ground with it, threw it, took a bite, threw it again, nibbled again, until it was all gone. Then he repeated the process. His friend/sibling seemed content to eat his in the tree.

Really hard to choose one shot, cos they're all appealing in their way. This, though, offered the sharpest focus. Although his tummy looks quite black here, among those I took of the birds in the tree, one shows the chest feathers as an irridescent blue. This, and their size and shape, and the long beaks, make me think they're starlings, who haven't quite got all their adult feathers yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.