He's Back

The male yellow shafted flicker was back this morning. I've only seen him, or one of his relatives, once at our feeders. We have lots of flickers around here but they are all red shafted. Yellow ones are quite rare and are found mostly on the east coast. But here he is in all his glory. How cool is that. Later two other flickers partook of the suet they all love, They were both red shafted, a female and a male. It seems to me that we have many more flickers than we used to. I hear their call wherever I walk in the local woods. Makes me happy because I love these birds.

Well, I plugged in the hifi this morning and it was cooked! According to all I found on Google if it still said "protector" that meant it was dead. And it did so it was. So Arvin and I headed to our local hifi shop and bit the bullet. We ordered a new one that is able to handle our turn table (most are not) and that will greatly simplify the operation of all our equipment.

The timing for that is good because Arvin has been finding the complexity of our current system quite daunting. I think I've mentioned that he has early stage Alzheimer's. I checked with him to be sure it was okay to let everyone know this. He said "yes." He is doing so very well. And he is sweeter and mellower than ever which is very hard to imagine as he was already the sweetest man I knew. Anyhow, I know that this new setup will work better for him. The store is going to come and install it and replace the rat's nest of wires we had with a much simpler scheme. I won't mention the cost but they did have to pick us both up off the floor when we realized what it was. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.