Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

The Church around the corner

This is the interior of the church at the parish house of Unser Lieben Frauen, Bremen. It was build in 1951. Right under it is a large, draughty basement which is mainly used by me. Some charity is using it as a storeroom, too, but I rarely meet anyone down there. I'm doing my pottery in the basement, and there's a superb kiln. On Fridays I've established a pottery group. Tutoring is free for parish members, they've just got to pay for the clay they're using.

Well, I guess I sound a bit like a squatter, but I assure you I'm not: I've got the keys and an entry on the parish website as proof... ;-)

The main church of the parish is at the centre of Bremen, next to the townhall. The church dates back to the year 1020, and turned Lutheran- Protestant in 1524 when Jacobus Probst, a friend of Martin Luther, became parish priest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.