Old Royal Naval College

I was staying in Greenwich for my trip to London so I could go along to the "Ships, Clocks and Stars - The Quest for Longitude" exhibition at the National Maritime Museum. I walked through the Old Royal Naval College and popped in at the Painted Hall and the Chapel on my way - it would be rude not to.

The exhibition was beautifully curated, setting out the problem and the various solutions offered, be they useful or fanciful. All five of Harrison's sea clocks were on display, I still find it hard to believe that H1 is still keeping excellent time despite being built in 1735. it was a treat to see them all together, along with their progeny.

A quick look at the Observatory then a trip into town for dinner and "The Commitments", which was great fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.