1638 bows out

GWR Pannier Tank 1638 bows out at the end of her last day in service before a major overhaul, there's no telling when she'll be back in service. This is my favourite class of locomotive as it takes me back to my childhood days at the Wooden Bridge in Wellington, Shropshire looking over the goods yard where there would always be two or three of these fine locos pottering around the year shunting and organising trucks and trains.

I had the priviledge of riding in the cab of this locomotive as pilotman from Wittersham to Bodiam and back whilst I was training in the Wittersham box. We thought we had a problem with the block system as we could not get the Wittersham - Northiam token out of the block instrument no matter how much we tried. So pilotman working had to be instigated and I had the honour of conducting the train to Bodiam and back. Wonderful. It turned out that the reason that we couldn't get a token out was because I hadn't put the previous one back! And if there is a token out, you can't withdraw another.  My mistake led to a great experience. (But I still maintain the duty signalman should have noticed the error)

I was at Wittersham Road signalbox today for a "Thomas the Tank Engine" weekend. A very interesting and different day as the normal run of things for crossing trains at Wittersham was reversed with the up train coming into the loop and the down train passingon the through line without stopping. I'd not done this working before in the box but it came out OK.

1638 was on duty of course and the crews were making sure she went out in style. As the down trains pass the box they have to tackle Hexden Bank which at 1 in 50 is quite a steep gradient for a railway and so as the down train had a clear run through the station they were at line speed as they passed the box, full of noise, steam and vitality. A great image of the loco to hold on to while she is out of service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.