Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

End of an era

We waved JR off this morning for her last full working week after a long and illustrious career. She will be doing four mornings a week from now on, as it would be too hard to just stop her beloved job. Bloomin' lucky, I say, to still enjoy teaching. I couldn't WAIT to retire! But the trick is to get out of the classroom...

Achie can jump on the chair now, and leaps up there as soon as he hears the car - even if I don't hear it! Then he goes crazy running between the window and the door, scattering mats in his wake. This is his morning and evening ritual.

We then set off on our training walk - I have a new way of holding my pole so that it doesn't look like I'm about to bash the dog. Not that I've noticed any looks ... May not need it for much longer.

Bus back down to the Meadows and a big walk across them. Away ahead I spotted two cockapoos - Woody, whom we've met, and another one. Then Brodieand his mum arrived. He snapped at Archie! The two cockapoos proceeded to dig big holes while the owners chatted. I hope Archie doesn't learn this!

While walking back with Brodie (on a lead because of his anti-social behaviour) and his mum, we met the young woman who bought our flat. She was out walking with the wee new baby. She wants a dog too, so was pleased to see Archie, who sat and waited patiently. I don't know how people cope with a baby, a toddler and a puppy!!

He's just been chewing quietly in the hallway. I went to inspect what was keeping him so occupied, only to find he's eaten half a tennis ball thingie off a useless toy. Should I panic?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.