Butterfingers

By Lilyrex

30.......

Continued.....


Later that morning, Dora arrived at Marta's, clutching a beautifully wrapped box. Unwrapping it, Marta hoped it was the digital radio she'd asked for.

'A Red Light Therapy Lamp for Acne,' she read, 'Zap those Zits!'

She looked at her mother in amazement. 'Are you and Jamie competing for some sort of Peculiar Present Prize? I appreciate the thought mum, but I don't actually have spots.'

'Well not at the moment perhaps. But they're imminent. It's the creeping menopause.'

'Mother I'm forty. I'm not quite menopausal yet, thank you.'

'You're the type that goes early though. Mark my words.' Dora stood up to leave, and then pulled a small package out of her coat pocket. 'I nearly forgot this,' she said, giving it to Marta.

'What is it?' said Marta, opening it. 'Hearing aid batteries? A subscription to Saga magazine?'

But there, inside a little velvet covered box, was a sparkling diamond ring, glittering and bouncing light all round the kitchen.

Marta looked at her mother, speechless.

'It was your grandmother's.' said Dora. 'I had it redesigned for you.' She smiled. 'You're a good girl Marta. Happy birthday.'

Genghis made a retching noise. He wasn't keen on too much sentiment.

'And anyway,' continued Dora, 'I thought that with your track record, this was your only hope of ever getting a diamond.'

Genghis purred. That's better, he thought, always leave 'em wondering if they've just been insulted or not....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.