The Sign Says It All

I finally found out where all that color at the Boardwalk comes from: two guys in overalls with a pushcart full of cans of paint and a couple brushes and rollers. I was lucky enough to find them this morning, scraping off the old and applying the new.

I was just On The Radio--a half hour interview about my upcoming photo exhibit--and I spoke a little about how much I enjoy the amusement park when there is no one there. I've always found carnivals and theme parks a little sinister, but also wondrous and bright and full of energy. The abstract color and the play of lines and shapes are compelling. And I'm intrigued by the feeling of suspended animation in a place that is intended for large groups of noisy people when no people are present.

As for the show, excitement runs high! I will have over a dozen pieces hanging for a month in a popular store downtown, with the opening reception on Friday night as part of the local monthly art walk. Several images have appeared right here on Blipfoto, so I'll just have a little sentimental moment here and say how much I appreciate this site and all the people here--it really is very special.


Hipstamatic: Jane lens; Kodama film

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.