Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Juvenile Red-tailed Hawk At Sauvie Island

It was one of those days with unsettled weather, but I took my chances and headed out to Sauvie Island just North of Portland. It is in the flight path of the fall migration of birds and always a favorite spot of mine. Today was the last day that the majority of viewing spots are open, as tomorrow starts the hunting season, and you just have a valid hunter's license to pass into those areas...something you'll never see me do:) So it was one of the exploration days, driving up and down pothole ridden gravel roads, adding a blipper's spin on offroading it. The car is a total mess, and I need to hit the car wash!!

BUT...I saw some interesting areas and lots of birds migrating, and got a shot of 2 sandhill cranes flying overhead, along with a turkey vulture sunning in a tree. But just the beautiful vistas are worth the visit, which you can see on my flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.