CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

So little time today

I've been stuck at my desk all day, which wasn't what I'd hoped for. I have a meeting to attend tonight and there are a lot of plans to prepare for both tonight and the next couple of weeks.

I made a cup of tea at teatime which seemed appropriate and as the sun was shining I took my cup out to the garden. I brought a camera too and decided to grab some pictures of this Sollya Heterophylla's little blue flowers and its delightful hanging seed pods. I fear the late autumn sunshine and warm weather is about to end in the next day or so so I need to grab a picture while I can.

I bought this plant from a nursery in Wiltshire about four years ago and I have tried to nurture it ever since with varying degrees of success. This year has been one of the better ones as it has proceeded to flower and produce good new growth, as well as the produce seed pods which will stay hanging down all winter long. It is an Australian plant and likes its warmth, so I will take it into the cabin from tonight to keep it frost free. I would love to be able to plant it in the ground but fear it would not survive and thus it will never grow to its potential here.

The orange flowers are from a plant whose name I have forgotten. I bought this small plant at a nursery in the spring and it has proceeded to flower off and on ever since. Helena and I love the colours and tones of its flowers so I much try to get another one next year, as it is an annual. I haven't been a good friend to my plants this summer, and I rather fear for the state of the garden now with the influx of weeds and grasses which are so rampant. Will I ever get control back from nature? Of course not. I need to work with it, but that is easier said than done as our garden proves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.