My final bee.....

..... from New Mexico.

I haven't been able to identify it, but we do know it's a bee, and not a bee mimic, because you can see the double wings clearly. (Bees have 4 wings, flies only 2).

I was absolutely stunned by the sheer variety of native bees in such a small area. And I know there were a number of the very tiny ones that I saw flying around, but was not able to photograph.

Such amazing diversity, and if it's hard to ID bees in South Australia, it's a nightmare in New Mexico. There is a very interesting pocket guide available, but its scope is quite narrow (of necessity, I would imagine). If I get to go back there again, I might just make contact with some of the bee researchers in the State. It would be really interesting to talk to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.