The Girls

I have been driving past deserted sheep pens over the last few days and kept thinking that I'd like to photograph some with sheep in them. Today I drove past a set of yards where there was activity, so I turned around and drove back and asked permission to take some photos - talk about stretching my comfort zone!

The guys were really obliging - and as happens during conversation, we realised we had acquaintances in common - including my uncle and my father! The conversation went something like this:

Oh yeah, I know someone in Murchison, B---- W-----, you know him?

Yep taught his kids... (other conversation)... My uncle worked on a station in this area years ago, R----- G-----, it was a long time ago so not many around here would remember him any more.

Yeah, I know R--- G----, worked on G---- H---- station didn't he? If you know R you might know A--- J-------.

Yeah, I know him. He's my father.

Ya don't say? Bought a car off him once, R put me onto him. Good car that was. A Holden. Can't beat a Holden....


And there's me pulling up in a Ford - maybe if I told him my other car's a holden...

New Zealand really is a small community.

Yet another batch of photos of Fickr of my visit to the sheep yards today.

I'm in Tekapo now. Not sure what the plan is for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.