Skeletons

Is what you find when you research your family history.

Meet my paternal grandfather, Agnew Humphrey and my grandmother, Winifred Ivy Holmes whom I recently discovered were never married. Turns out that they couldn't get married because Agnew was already married and couldn't/wouldn't get divorced. To my surprise, my sister knew about this. It was something that dad had told her about. I guess she just asked the right questions, and lets face it, boys are not generally inquisitive about that sort of thing. Apparently he got married in a moment of madness when under the influence of alcohol and regretted it pretty much immediately. What I doubt that dad knew was that he had a son with his first wife, well with his only wife technically. So dad had a step brother that he didn't know about. Not that having a step brother was an unknown experience to dad as Agnew also fathered a son with his sister in law, yes, you heard me right, his sister in law!

I'm pleased to say that I have not inherited Agnew's genes. How do I know this? Well, I went out for a whisky tasting evening last night, got merry and didn't wake up with an extra wedding ring on my finger or in my sister in laws bed!

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.