Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Ariel Piping to Children

Since starting my journal six months ago I've been posting quite a few blipfotos taken around and about Broadcasting House, where I've worked for well over thirty years. It's truly like a second home to me, and the closer my retirement date gets the more it sinks in that I will no longer be seeing its familiar features every day. With the passing years I've really come to appreciate the stylish beauty of all the original 1930's Art Deco features, including the wonderful sculptures by the controversial Eric Gill. The BBC itself has been no stranger to controversy ever since Gill's work at Broadcasting House, including Prospero and Ariel, was first unveiled in the early 1930's, so I think it's rather ironic that his sculptures feature so prominently at the Corporation's flagship headquarters. This carving of Ariel piping to children, created by Gill in 1932, is on the east side of Broadcasting House above the entrance to what is now a Nero café on the World Piazza. I shall blip some further works of art from in and around BH over the coming months as part of my long goodbye.

I must apologise to everyone once again for the lack of replies and comments this week. It's proving a particular squeeze time-wise, as there's quite a lot happening away from work which has demanded my attention. And, as regulars will know, once I'm in the studio the job in hand requires 100% concentration and effort. Hopefully I should be able to catch up on everybody's journals at the weekend and during next week. I have some much-needed time off, and will spend a large part of it with my family in Essex celebrating Dad's 90th birthday with him and Mum. His breathing difficulties continue to cause us concern, and today he has had further x-rays in hospital to try and find out what's happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.