A DARK START

of the day, the sky looked massiv, but in the morning it changed and blue wonder blue came visible.
I had not joined Piet Hein to the beach in the morning, where he had a dive in the still warm water and had met with Mischa, who had walked and photographed there.
After lunch I cycled to the Heempark. A big surprise I found there, the landscape had changed so much in the last two weeks. Around the little pound all the reed had been cut, it was easy now to walk around it. And at other places too there had been a lot of work done.
The park had been neglected probably for a long time, but now there are men and women working at certain parts and new paths are made. I like it a lot more.
It still has the magic of a secret garden, but better attended to.
At the big pond, I saw them from far, there was the big swan family, they all floated upon the water.
When they saw me, they came to the shore, but I had come unprepared and promised to bring oats next day.
At a certain point they turned and sailed away towards the small canal, where they found their meal of duckweed.
No surprise that when I came back I suggested to make minestrone soup (again) for the weaker persons of the family (Mischa and I) and we all ate it with gusto.

My haiku:

The swans look bewitched
Keeping all close together
Knowing their secret

And the quote by Ellen Glasgow in The Sheltered Life (1932):

It is only by knowing how little life has in store for us that we are able to look on the bright side and avoid disappointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.