Men at Work

I had every intention of taking a photograph for the Derelict Thursday challenge hosted by Sarum Stroller. I dropped Helena off for an appointment and headed down to Bellingham Harbor to check out some of the interesting things piled up around there, or old trucks, or old boats, for the challenge. As I drove along I was stopped cold by the sight I saw of fishermen repairing nets and getting them ready for their next fishing trip. The contrast between the dark silhouettes of the men against the backlit nets really got my attention. I had to stop.

I walked up and asked if I could take their picture. I got a bunch of banter back with questions about what newspaper I was with and what would I do with the photos. I gave one man my Blip card and explained that the photos were just for me, for my daily photo that I posted each day. They agreed and we ended up having a great conversation. One fellow was from Split in Croatia and since we are going there we had a good chat about that. I had fun. This one was my favorite. I posted some of the other photos I took of the men at work on Chaikins of Bellingham.

I continued on to the port and took a bunch more photos. You can see them here. It turned into a great way to pass the time until it was time to pick up Helena.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.