It is Spring......

......in my desert-like garden with just a few plants in flower, my clematis is full of buds slowly unfurling when the sun is shining.

Mr and Mrs Blackbird are frantically feeding three young chicks which are nestled deeply into and amongst the clematis shaded by the green leaves, they must be a week old by now. A bedroom window is level with the vine and I watch Mr and Mrs Blackbird, there is an entrance and a exit and its always the same. I can just make out three little beaks as they search for the food, the chirps are still quite soft.

High in the trees I hear the grey warblers, sparrows and wax-eyes, a couple of fantails flit through the garden when the sun is out.

It has been a day of unpredictable spring weather - wind, clouds - grey and white,  a little sun, snow in many parts of NZ and now as I type (late afternoon) rain is falling, I might be lighting the new fire.

Hope you all have an enjoyable weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.