The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Escape From The Office - Nagshead

Our second escape from the office day.

We have decided to get our work/ life balance back on track a little bit. We are also both trying to get a little bit fitter, and shed a few pounds. So, as such, we have decided to make a break for freedom once a week now, and get out in the great outdoors. If we have to make up work time at the weekend so be it ... and of course, if something work wise needs to take precedent it will.

After last weeks escape to Slimbridge, we crossed the border again and went to RSPB Nagshead in the Forest of Dean.

We have been there before a couple of years ago. I don't think we have been back. In future I won't be lugging my long lens with me, it's not really the place for it as it is too dark in the treetops and forest floor to get any photos. It really was a bird watching day rather than a photography day.

I was hoping to see a Crossbill or a Hawfinch, but both birds still eluded me .. ah well. I think we will be going back sooner rather than later this time. We did get some wonderful wildlife moments though.

We saw a fallow deer run into the path ahead of us, we watched a fox amble past the hide, and having not seen a Nuthatch all year, I saw about six separate individuals in the end! Another highlight was watching a Treecreeper having a bath in the pool by the hide. It then climbed up the tree right outside our viewing position. Alas it was too gloomy to get a photo, all I got was blurs. Never mind!

We had a top day and a lovely picnic sat in the woods. We called into to see my brother on the way home and give the girls a nice surprise. Not a bad escape from the office day at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.