chantler63

By chantler63

Shades of Red

I have spent today in London as a volunteer to 'plant' poppies at the Tower of London. The moat around the Tower is being transformed with the planting of almost 900,000 ceramic poppies which started in August and must be finished by November 10th. The complete installation will be place for two weeks before the unplanting starts!

For a few hours this afternoon I was part of a Tourist Attraction as loads of people were looking down on us as volunteers in our bright red t-shirts. Will I ever wear it again?

I have chosen to blip one of the poppies close up with the light glinting off hundreds of other poppies in the background giving the bokeh effect. It really is a Sea of Blood!

It was surprisingly hard work as the poppies had to be constructed from various parts prior to being stuck in the ground, but there was a great sense of camaraderie amongst the Volunteers and we all pitched in with the common goal. I am very tired this evening and my fingers are sore from the task but I am so glad I was able to take part. Each poppy represents the life of a serviceman lost in WW1.

Thank you to my friends Annie AndChriswho alerted me to this - do have a look at Annie's shot from her experience. It's also worth a look at the Tower of London website for more information.

If you can get to London this really is a sight worth seeing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.