Fast RAM

This week I went to help a friend fix his computer, turning up and speaking sternly to it seemed to make it work again. He gave me some RAM he had spare. This morning I put it in my home server taking it from 6 GiB to 8 GiB of RAM, and I had 2 GiB spare that I removed. The RAM I took out was much faster than the RAM I put in, but as the motherboard couldn't take advantage of it, it wasn't being used to it's full potential anyway.

Today's blip is the surplus RAM that I took out, as you can see it's so fast it needs it's only fancy cooling fins!

Later in the afternoon he popped round to install Debian GNU/Linux on his old laptop that was playing silly beggars, and we just has to wait a few extra minutes while it probed the non-existent floppy drive before the install went though okay. I was able to give the fast RAM I'd taken out, as I know he does have a computer that can use it.

Technically this is a back blip, but as I've not gone to sleep yet, it doesn't count... Night, night blip-universe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.