Lady and the Drill

Today we have celebrated the 235th anniversary of Tampere: many different happenings around the city this weekend. We would have liked to take part to the ghost drive of Tampere in the evening, but it was sold out... Instead I visited today the City Hall Raatihuone, which was a very lovely place, with it's beautiful decorated rooms....

...And I also met this stunning couple: the Lady and the Drill.

Yoy may remember the Highway tunnel drilling operation in Tampere, that I told in summer. Well, the tunnel for the highway is made with this huge drill and her twin sister. Both of the drills have been named after 2 leading ladys of the town - this particular one is called Anna-Kaisa.

Inside the drill cockpit you can see the lovely mayor of Tampere, Anna-Kaisa Ikonen waving. I was very happy as she was brave enough to climb to the vehicle with her high heels, and even happier as I also got her permission to publish this shot of the marvellous couple to you, blippers!

Sharp lady she is, very competent I guess.

On my way back home I visited also the new Mediapolis - the media campus of Tampere - a place so familiar to me. Some more shots here, if you like to enjoy views from the celebration of Tampere.

What a day for a hobby-photographer - I hope you have had as nice weekend, as I did!

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.