Storm

I've dodged dodgy weather all day.

This bit of weather is particularly dodgy.

I packed the car ok but it was rain and sleet as I drove to work. Sun when I left work at lunchtime, but we headed south towards bad weather.

It was all around us, always lurking and often spectacular as tentacles of cloud wrapped around hills and mountains.

At Twizel we picked up a boat left in storage. The blokes wondered how the battery was so we diverted down the side of Ohau B and C canals and launched the boat below the dam into the Hawden Arm of Lake Benmore.

Like all good fishing yarns, I had a good fish on but it got away. Another fish was landed but not on my line.

We watched this approaching storm. It was cold but nothing like when it hit us. The lake turned to frothy chop in an instant. We turned and headed the short distance back to shore.

We headed off for the final half hour or so of our journey to Lake Benmore where a comfy warm house and hot meal was ready.

(I text Dad and told him I'd lost a good fish. He replied "I'm not interested in excuses". That made me laugh :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.