Beat

I'm blipping Beat today as I won't be able to blip him these next 15 days. I will miss my beautiful Beat whilst I'm away, as he will be staying with my dad. This kind of journey would be a bit too much for my autistic boy*, but I'll still miss him.

Helle and I + 4 dogs will be taking off on a very exciting adventure tomorrow.

First we are going to Belgium to train with the famous Belgian dog dancer Jules O'Dwyer. She is probably the best dog dancers in the world - you can see her perform here.

After a couple of days with Jules, we will continue to London, where we are going to do touristy stuff like visiting the Harry Potter Studio.

On the 13th we will drive up to Derbyshire to visit Hero's breeder + some other friends in that area.

We are trying to get a blip meet dog walk organized with TaTs the contented woman in Derbyshire on the 13th in the afternoon. Feel free to join us, if there are other blippers in that area. We will most likely meet by the Fradley Junction at 2 pm.

We will be in Derbyshire until the 16th, when we continue to Lancashire for one of the most important dog training conferences Clicker Expo, which is held in Europe for the first time ever this year.

All very exciting and we are so looking forward to it.

It's been another busy day today. I had some shopping to do, I went to work for a little while, took the dogs for a walk, sorted the last packing and Hero and Biscuit have been to the vet's to have their pets' passport sorted before entering the UK on Friday.

After the vets, Helle and I packed all of my stuff into Helle's car and miraculously everything fitted in!

I don't know if I will be online in Belgium, but otherwise, I will back-blip, when I get to the hotel in London.

See you some time...
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

*)
The story of Beat for those that do not know: Beat is a lovely boy, but he has always been 'funny'. The vet's theory is that he suffered from lack of oxygen during a difficult birth, which has caused brain damage.
He behaves very much like an autistic child - he has very poor social skills (he is wonderful with people, but not with dogs), he has stereotyped behaviours and he has problems organizing sensation coming from the environment, which means that he takes everything in, which of course is tiring and makes it difficult for him to concentrate for very long.
He is coping really well in his every day routines, but a trip like this, where we are in a new hotel every day and there are no routines to help him keep order of his life, would be difficult for him and when he is stressed and pushed to his limits, he tends to attack the other dogs, so it could end up being very difficult for all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.