The Big House

This afternoon I had a walk up to the hospital to get some new hearing aid batteries for my Dad. I had to go to the hearing clinic which is hidden away in a corner at the top of the hospital, and appears to be very chaotic, understaffed and busy! I left by the nearest exit rather than try to find my way through the maze of corridors and floors to where I went in, and found myself by the prison.

It's an imposing-looking building, opened as a local prison in 1872 to hold remand and convicted prisoners and replacing the prison at Lincoln Castle. The original 1869–72 structures designed by Frederick Peck are now listed buildings and are notable examples of High Victorian gothic design. The prison accommodation has been altered and extended at various times in the 20th century.Between 1900 and 1961 a total of 18 judicial executions took place at the prison.It is a Category B local prison holding adult male remand and convicted prisoners from the courts in Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Humberside. Accommodation at the prison is spread across four residential wings and a segregation unit.

I have my cat purring on my lap, coffee to hand and I'm going to catch up on computer stuff before getting ready for work tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.