Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Greek Health Care

A Greek Tradgedy - Part III

I managed to get the bed tilted up a little today and since I couldn't sleep except for passing out for 30 minutes every now and again, I got to see the amazing light from the sunrise on the other side of the ward today. That's Mikey reading the paper already. A Good guy Mikey, doesn't speak much English but I liked him.

The brace came today and 120 euros cash was handed over but no one came to show me how to use it or help me put it on, so I've just been looking at it all day. Something to know about breaking your back - your body automatically goes into defensive shut down and makes you constipated, so that, together with the catheter meant I didn't really need it.....which was lucky.

As you should have guessed by now (as I should have at the time) there is no internet here. I was begining to notice other differences in our health systems too at this point. Such as; I only get pain killers when I ask for them, no staff ask how you are or if you need anything, there are no restrictions on visitors (numbers or times) and my bed is rather uncomfortable ....... there will be/is a blip dedicated to this 07.10.14

I did however get a call from our insurance people, who said that if the Greek doctors confirm what I told them over the phone, usual proceedure is repatriation asap. Sounded good but....... there's always a but.


........to be continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.