Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Greek Nurses

A Greek Tradgedy - Part V

Greek nurses don't lift a finger to help you because that is the responsiblity of your family. That explains why no one will help with my brace, clean my sheets or basically do anything for me. Don't get me too wrong on this, the staff were all fantastic - just not overly helpful is all. In fact, food for patients is a very new concept indeed, and was also the responsibilty of family to bring in. And then, as I have just learned, this hospital was built with a staff of 300 in mind and actually has 120. So, again, I don't wish to criticise any of them overly much (except the bitch who kept puncturing my catheter when she changed it).

Here we have Mikey's grandama and aunt at one of the quieter times. At several points our 4 bed ward (with just three of us in it) was filled with upto 15 people, two TVs (different chanels and loud) all competing to be heard. At night, the spare bed is occupied by wives, mothers, aunts or dads pulling a night shift. They were all very sweet and kind to me but most often I just wanted a bit of peace.

The insurance company have had a change of heart and are going to send a Danish doctor down here to evaluate me because communication and diagnosis has been impossible and contradictory.

......To be continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.