Dotty

By Dotty

Best Day

One which I was within a whisker of missing out on.

I nearly didn't take a day off, away from home and housework and sorting stuff out and ridiculous emails and banging my head at the absolute nonsense of it all, because I thought the housework and the sorting stuff out and answering the ridiculous emails would make the nonsense go away.

Then I came to my senses. And had a fabulous day riding my bicycle, chatting, huffing and puffing up hills, freesquealing down hills, and stopping to admire agrisculpture, cows, swans, buzzards and wild potatoes. And drinking tea by the best gate. And picnicing on the jetty of the secret loch. And taking a quiet moment. And not collapsing in giggles at somebody who did not fall over into the biggest patch of sticky willy in the world.

And you know what? The housework which needed doing did get done. And some long overdue emails of the not-ridiculous variety did get written. And some good decisions were made.

But best of all I got to eat & swap cake with my chums, in glorious sunshine. It was a sublime day - thank you Colette & Alan xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.