The second half of life..

By twigs

Tekapo icon

Today I drove the 100-odd kms from Kurow to Tekapo in a land-slow-speed record of about 6 hours......lots of stops. Whilst this back-country road was more interesting and more challenging than the main road (gravel road, narrow and windy, a little steep in places, half a dozen fords), it wasn't quite as spectacular as I had imagined it might be........that was, until 'summiting' the pass when Mount Cook and the Southern Alps quite suddenly and unexpectedly, leaped into view, showing off all their glistening, snow-covered glory.

Arrived in Tekapo to find it blowing a hard, cold wind. The skies were filled with the most glorious clouds and whilst they looked great it doesn't augur well for star gazing. They did however, look stunning behind the Church of the Good Sheppard (do you remember this place dad?) Had to wait a long time to get images to create this as there was a constant stream of tourists (including 3 separate Chinese bridal parties. It seems this is the place to have your photos taken, even if it means standing in freezing cold wind with veils and dresses blowing in every direction!) I was rewarded for my wait with about a 30 second people-free gap. Well worth the wait.

So tonight I'm staying in Tekapo. I made enquiries about doing a night tour at Mount John Observatory but, based on the cloud-filled sky, decided I wouldn't try it tonight - I'll wait and see what tomorrow brings. Now - at 10.00pm - the wind is still blowing hard and cold, but on the up side, the moon has become very visible. If things were to be like this tomorrow night I think it may be good to shoot the blood moon I'm after. I can hopefully fit in an observatory visit before the eclipse begins. If all of this happens I'm in for a very long, very late night tomorrow so best get to bed now.

G'night
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.