Gifts of Grace

By grace

Age (and experience)

I've been unsettled since the Charles Eisenstein evening on Saturday. One of his main themes is that the old stories of our civilization are breaking down, that we are in a disoriented state where new stories of who we are and why we are here are only just beginning to be born. Stories of the heart, of the gift that we each are, that life is, that our planet is.

At its best I think Blip is an example of an emerging story, one of generosity, kindness and beauty. I told him that I am familiar with the breakdown of outgrown versions of myself, that this has been a regular, cyclical, recurrent process in my life, less terrifying each time it occurs. I'm smack bang in the middle of liminality once again, not knowing how long it will last, where it will lead. He suggested this might be the initiation into elderhood. Maybe.

I wept today when I heard that a celebrity Muslim woman in the UK has created an organization to encourage Muslim women to stand up and declare that Islamic State is evil. That's what IS say about their enemies.

All day I've been hearing this song - it's danceable, just.

Edit Friday: and now this more hopeful message.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.