Wow......

.....What a night!
Last night I ran my moth trap for the first time since I was ill a week ago. I woke up at 6.30 to pouring rain, and rushed downstairs to make sure the bulb was ok, but I needn't have worried, as it was absolutely fine, under it's protective pyrex bowl! such a great idea!
I only caught 6 moths in total though, but I wasn't disappointed as 3 of them were new garden species, of which this Barred sallow (Xanthia aurago) was one - more to follow.
The Barred sallow is mainly distributed in the south and south east England although it can occur locally further north.
it has a wingspan of 27 - 32mm and flies in September and october.
In line with a lot of autumnal moths it has lovely ochre and brown colours to provide camouflage in the autumn leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.