An October Sunrise

I grabbed my coat and shot out of the house before I had time for breakfast when I saw the trees of the Meadows looming like giants through a perfect autumnal mist, and I thought that I might be that early bird who catches the blip.

To the east an orange glow suddenly appeared through the trees.
I watched transfixed as the great red orb of sun slid slowly into view, and the resident population of Meadows' seagulls rose as one from the grass, wheeling overhead in what seemed to be a dance of welcome to the first rays of sunshine.

A minute later and it was over. The sun was up, and the colours in the eastern sky were more muted. The seagulls resumed their seats on the grass and I turned for home, looking forward to breakfast.

What a disappointment it was when I looked out of the window half an hour later to find the sun had retreated behind an overall cover of grey cloud.
Some late risers today will never know about the day's dramatic entrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.