CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Keith and the pumpkin harvest

I had a busy day today with desk work, project management, shopping and even photography in several different places.

By mid-morning I reached the Stancombe Beech farmshop, near Bisley, and was pleased to find both Sally and her brother Ashley at work there. We had a quick catch up as we hadn't met for a while and then I bought some delicious vegetables that they have grown this summer. They had a special offer on pumpkins and gourds which I took advantage of. I asked Ashley how his sunflower crop had been this year as I blipped earlier in the summer. This was the second year they had produced large numbers of them and again they proved very successful.

As I was leaving Ashley asked if I had my camera (silly question) as he sad the pumpkins were looking good in the field and did I want to take some pictures. He warned me that I would need wellies as it was very muddy. I said I didn't have time to explore the field properly but that I would take a look and maybe return in the next couple of days. So I took my camera out of the car and walked a few yards and then saw Ashley's brother Keith walking towards me with this basket of pumpkins, so I couldn't resist a shot. Unfortunately the camera settings hadn't changed from yesterday and weren't ideal, but I didn't want to lose the moment. Hopefully I can go back with more time before they pull all the pumpkins up. I did notice that there are still many sunflowers in the same field as the pumpkins, so I might be able to get pictures of the seed heads even although their delightful yellow faces have now gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.