Balfour's Botany

I'm obviously a bit behind the times because I've cycled through Pilrig Park numerous times since they were installed in late September. It was only today, walking through the Park, that I noticed the Tree Tags, or at least one of them, an artwork installation by artist Andrea Geile, which in turn is part of a project called Balfour's Botany, part of which comprises an endeavour to rewild parts of Pilrig Park.

Now I had always assumed that Balfour Street was named after the Balfour of the 1917 Balfour Declaration on Israel/Palestine, and British Foreign Secretary. Perhaps that belief was fostered by the fact that there is a street called Arthur Street at right angles running into Balfour Street. But no, it would seem that it is named for the Lairds of Pilrig House, from the 1700s until the 1940s. I suspect that they were all somehow related, as a cursory review of the families so far as I can tell from Wikipedia, highlights that they all originated in Fife. But John Hutton Balfour, botanist, seems to be the key figure here.

The tags were apparently prepared in conjunction with the Gaelic school abutting the park. This one seems to say sgitheach, but I'm afraid that I have no idea what it means. I might seek out and photograph the other three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.