Derelict Thursday - Old and New

This is the ancient hamlet of Hackney, not the East London one but the one near Kingsteignton in Devon. This derelict cottage was one of several provided for the bargees that used to work the Hackney Channel moving granite and ball clay to this point, where they can be transferred to the docks at Teignmouth.

The 18c Passage House Inn just up the bank a short way, provided shelter for people crossing the river. As you can see there is now a speedier way of crossing. You may detect by looking Large that it was raining at the time of my visit here. Sadly there is no roof remaining to give me shelter.

Do have a look at Tim (Sarum Stroller)'s page for further information on Derelict Thursday

I'm sorry my journal entry was so short yesterday. I ran out of time and was hurrying to get to the second rehearsal for a project that is under weigh. We're putting on a 'Commitments' style show for the village festival next year. Now those of you who regularly follow my journal will know that musical performance is something I enjoy very much but the organisation of a band this size (there will be 14 of us. A 4-piece horn section, a four-piece rhythm section and five singers. I know that makes 13 but we might have a keyboard player to take us out of the unlucky number) is monumental. Just getting everybody's attention to start a number is an effort as they're all preparing for what they have to do. There's a LOT of work involved and although I'm wondering what I've got myself into, it's fun and even at this early stage it's sounding great!

Right, must get on. Have a good evening.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.