An Experiment with Colour

12.7C with a dull morning, rain though the middle of the day, clearing a little through the afternoon. Zephyr.

The rain came on just as I was having lunch today, so Maeve the Deerhound and I had to wait until later in the afternoon to have a walk.

After lunch, and since it was raining, I decided to try my new paints. I found a spare page in a sketchbook and made a sketch from a photograph of the standing stones on Machire Moor on Arran which I have use before as a subject for both paintings and prints.

I used my new watercolour/gouache hybrid paints and watercolour paints and decided to break up the mid and background into areas in the manner I would for a white line print to make it easier to experiment with the new paints. Some of the colour mixes were made with aquapasto so I could paint quickly without using a standard watercolour wash method. I added some detail with ink once the colours dried.

Machrie Moor Standing Stones, mixed media (watercolour and gouache hybrid, watercolour, aquapasto, and ink) on cartridge paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.