The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

One Street: Gloucester Street, Stroud

See the list of my Gloucester Street blips in my biography

Back when I joined blip, there was a buzz about a OneStreet project in which blippers chose to document the life of one particular street over a period of time. I thought at the time that I could well choose Gloucester Street, as I pass through it at least five days per week, but it seemed a little down at heel. Now I see that this is part of its charm.

It's changed quite a bit over the past two years, so I thought I'd begin to officially blip it today. I intend to wade through previous blips and put up links to other shots from this street.

The sun was shining, so it seemed a good moment to begin... on the left there are three food places: the Rajdoot, the Bengal Balti, and the Best Kebab and Pizza House. Below that is a barbers, still with the traditional red and white signage. On the right, in the shadow, I can just make out Vogue hairdressers. (More of this will follow, over the weeks and months to come.) I hardly ever see any people in Gloucester street: it is pedestrian-unfriendly because of the parked cars, and the shops are not as popular as those in the High Street, just above. Try viewing this in LARGE.

In other news, my sore throat continues to be sore (must be over a week now). I had a lovely sociable afternoon: left work in a downpour, so ran to Tesco's, to pick up a few bits. Bumped into a friend and went for coffee. Found some DVDs in a charity shop (for school) for a bargain price, then bumped into CleanSteve and a mutual friend, who were inspecting a wholly inadequate storm-drain that is causing some flooding every time there is a downpour. Got invited in for tea, so stayed and chatted until it was time to rush home to give a a massage.

Also, we may have found a sitter for our house and Bomble the cat, over half term, via an agency. Fingers crossed: I have found the process quite strange, being more used to having friends to stay while we are away. The main thing is, he'll be looked after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.