Jess @ Jesus

By jessatjesus

Pitt Rivers Museum

Today I went over to the Natural History Museum and the Pitt Rivers Museum as part of my first essay. The task involved having a look around the museums and choosing any object that interests us to then research and write about how that links back to earth system processes and how they have made the object what it is today. I chose a cave hyena, or Crocuta crocuta spelaea, because I didn't know that during the Pleistocene there were hyenas in the UK.

This evening we had the college bop which was silent disco and it's fancy dress. The Freshers' were assigned a costume to dress up as and I got Ronan Keating (because my second name is Keating). It was actually really fun to try and figure out how to do the costume and I ended up making a face mask in the evening before it. A great evening but the boptails (basically a mixer with alcohol, so there was stuff like cherry vodka etc.) were so strong and got stronger the later it got because they started running out of mixer. There was quite a few people suffering and I've never seen so many people being sick in one evening!

I did meet another Geordie out of pure coincidence which was exciting. He definitely had a stronger accent than me but it's cool because he is a third year Geographer. There is a distinct lack of northern people here but it's not an issue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.