Bowood 2014 #36

The autumnal light was especially fine when I visited Bowood this time, and was pleased with how it came out in the pictures I took - in fact I rather wished I had taken many more than I did. I checked out Tractor Ted's first and saw Charley bottle-feeding Buzz and Woody, and then wandered down to the lake, watching the sunlight creating long shadows from the trees and the still lake reflecting the blue skies and clouds. Two herons flew out from the temple area towards me, one turning to the left and the other to the right.

Later on I explored a path through the caves that was entirely black for awhile until I turned a corner and saw a chink of light where the downhill path came out by a cascading waterfall. I surprised one of the two herons which took off and flew closely overhead, its long beak, vast wingspan and dangling feet making it seem oddly like a long extinct pterodactyl, awaking in a lost world, as it made its strangled cry.

L.
14.10.2014 (1531 hr)

Blip #1398
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #1652
LOTD #633 (#753 including archived blips)

Alternatives:
Geese On Lake Field
As Above, So Below
Gold
All Is Still
Hare

A Visit To Bowood, 2 October 2014 (Flickr album)

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm (Blip), Pentax 12-24 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm

Landscape series
Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Kate Tempest - Circles (2014)
Second single from her Mercury Music Prize-nominated album Everybody Down. Hope it wins.

One year ago: Signs Of Autumn #2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.