Dalvorar

Today we drove out to the Linn of Dee where we parked up and walked up Glen Dee to the White Bridge. This is National Trust land, pretty much wilderness with the odd plantation or solitary Caledonian pine and very lovely. An hour of walking and we reached the White Bridge over the Dee (it's actually red?!) and Tony headed off up the Corbett Sgur Mor whilst I retraced my steps and did some serious blipping of trees, landscapes and the river. Sadly the cloud cover was down once again so no blue skies to speak of.

Once back at Linn of Dee I had a cuppa from the flask, left Tony a note under the windscreen wiper and set off down the road to Braemar, blipping as I went. Thankfully there is little traffic on the valley road and there was lots to take in. I stopped to watch a golden eagle (wow!) hovering over the fields next to the river in search of a meal, and then passed some time watching two magnificent stags bellowing at each other from their separate herds in the valley. Rutting season is almost on us so I guess they were trying to impress their respective females (who remained singularly unimpressed!)

Six miles on and I arrived back in Braemar and had just put down my tray of coffee and cake (banana and chocolate today - very yummy!) when Tony arrived - what excellent timing!

We have treated ourselves to a meal out at The Gathering Place tonight. Tony had venison and I had salmon, both very well cooked and delicious. We have booked again for Saturday night!

Tomorrow is supposed to be okay weatherwise so I am still hoping for sunny blips. Today the sun didn't come out till I was well on the way to Braemar hence the dour blip. It is taken between the White (red!) Bridge and Linn of Dee at the ruined settlement of Dalvovar, probably a result of the Clearances. I quite like the autumnal, rustic colours of the landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.