Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Local Locks #2

Come rain, hail or snow, I will NOT be put off my self imposed challenges .... except that ... um .... what season is this again?

Last night Blackheath received a very heavy "spring" snow dump. This, almost exactly to the day that one year ago, raging bush fires broke out around the Blue Mountains, threatening to engulf us all in flames and ash.

Curiously one year before THAT (again almost exactly to the day) Blackheath received ANOTHER heavy dump of unseasonal snow. Gee. I can't WAIT to see what happens NEXT year.

Unfortunately about midnight, heavy rain from a warmer direction began to fall and did so for hours, effectively melting and washing away much of the snow. This was a big disappointment as I had been hoping to blip scenes of an ESPECIALLY white Blackheath - but by the time I was up at dawn with enough light to shoot proper pictures, the bulk of the cover was gone. Nonetheless, HERE is a pic of a local park playground with SOME snow left and HERE is the same scene, shot through my car's side window (Hobbs had a sort of not very original artistic impulse here - sigh).


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.