Felagie

We drove out to Invercauld Estate this morning and headed out on one of their trails. An hour in to the walk, Tony and I parted ways as he went on to CarnLiath and Culardoch, two more Corbetts for his list. I turned off right to complete the circular walk around Craig Leek and as I reached the high point around the northern end of the crag, the Felagie Glen opened up in front of me. At this time of day the sun was struggling to break through and it was also very cold so the cloud was hovering around the hilltops. Then I realised that the spectacular ridge in the distance was in fact Lochnagar so, remembering what Kate Bush said recently, instead of blipping away and moving on I found a convenient rock to sit on in the heather and enjoyed the beauty of the view for some time.

I then descended into the glen and through the forest back to the carpark, left Tony a note again and walked back to Braemar for coffee and cake in The Bothy. I am busy working my way through their whole homemade cake cabinet so today it had to be carrot cake. Karen was in the cafe so we shared a table and exploits for a while. Later Nev rang and invited me back to the Bothy for yet another cuppa (I resisted a second slice of cake!) and Janet, Jane and Nick were there too - the area is teeming with orienteers, I wonder why?! Tony arrived back from his mountain walk and we passed a pleasant hour or so.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.