Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Platform ... er ... Thingies

In the rather longish history of Blackheath Railway Station (the present island platform and station building were completed 1899) I can find no record of a passenger standing on the platform (or falling from it) being killed or injured by a passing train. Nonetheless a couple of years ago - at a cost of several thousand kilograms of dollars - the relevant authorities decided to upgrade the yellow safety line on both sides of the platform for its full length with this pattern of .. er ... plastic studs. Other than making one's footing unstable and predisposing one to trip and fall, I cannot think what its purpose might be.

It was one of those days that sort of runs away with one - so to speak. I appeared to be constantly busy, occupied with some seemingly useful task but by day's end (about 10:30 pm), I emerged from a rehearsal of the Rhodo Festival Revue to the shocking reality that I had failed to capture a single potential blip all day. Yet again I mobilised myself into "EB" mode and wandered up by the station, E-M5/30mm Sigma at the ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.