Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Wet

A cold, dark and wet morning. Roads saturated with water. Leaves drooping with heavy rain drops. Fancy hairdos most certainly destroyed for the day. Cycler's soaked before arriving to work. Smear marks streaking my lens while trying to grab this blip.......

If it's going to be a wet day, I might as well have fun with the weather that God gave us today and that is why I funked this shot up a little. I am attracted to the contrast between the clear focused drops and the blurred and vibrantly colored drops in the background. I'd love to see the difference if I was using a macro lens, but for now I will make due with what I have. I also noticed the reflection of myself in one of the clear and more centered raindrops. It's amazing what you notice when the picture is loaded to a larger screen. So my theme today is 'wet' and after last night's adventures, 'wet' seemed very fitting and appropriate for today's blip.

Thursday Night:

Last night my parents, sister, nephew, husband, kids and I were all settled around the table for a delicious dinner of Enchiladas and home made refried beans. Yes I made them and yes I will brag about them. It's a meal that I feel like I have perfected. And since this is my journal, I will take the liberties of bragging about it. We all ate more than we probably should have but that's to be expected when the smells of dinner drift into your nose and happily settle into the depths of your soul.......

As we were cleaning the kitchen, my husband let our son take a drink of water from the spray nozzle. And thank you doll, they all want to drink that way now! :) Of course, he attempted to give me a quick spray, but I was too fast. A few minutes went by and I noticed my Mom quietly putting away the left overs. I looked at my son and whispered, "watch this". Before I thought of what the consequences might be, I turned the kitchen sink hose on high and sprayed my Mom in the back. She shrieked, my son ran away howling and I was instantly blinded by tears because I was laughing so hard. My Mom, being the good sport that she is, laughed with us as my son was giving me high fives. About ten minutes later, my Mom and I were laying on the floor in the living room looking something up on the internet. I suddenly felt this cold wet trickle on my head and pretended that I hadn't noticed. The trickle turned to a pour and I still pretended that I was unaware of what was happening. Soon, the entire glass of water had been poured over my head, thank you again doll, and I was drenched. My Mom laughed and laughed and laughed with the rest of the entire family. Okay, that was a good one. They got me!

As so I call this blip 'wet'. Because even when you are inside your own home, minding your own business, you never know who is gonna sneak around the corner and get ya. Especially if you started the water war in the first place. Wet. In this case, more than just rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.