"It doesn't get any more Manchester than that"

As I've said before, taking two weeks off to sit in the sun somewhere is not really an option for me, nor one that I particularly want. What I do like doing is grabbing a day or two off here and there to do something interesting with the Minx or, like today, taking an afternoon of to meet up with a friend.

In this case I was meeting up with Kerry, who was one of the first friends I made on Twitter. Today, we met up at 57 Thomas Street for a couple of drinks and a bite to eat. I love spending time with Kerry; she's smart and funny, modest and kind. And so cool that she used to work in a record shop. In America!

I can't remember exactly what we were talking about - something to do with loving Manchester - when Kerry pointed at the run down brick building across the street and said "It doesn't get any more Manchester than that". I've not captured the whole building but I loved this doorway, framed by the two Fall flyers.

Later on we were joined by @bopterror, a Twitter friend of Kerry's whom I hadn't met before, who turned out to be a nice guy, too. I couldn't hang around, though, as I was off to Rusholme to meet up with the Minx and child, plus two of my big girls, Charlie and Hannah. Charlie had found a new restaurant to try - Lal Qila - which really was rather good. (I must say though that cutting back on my drinking and losing weight recently has suddenly impacted my ability to drink. Not that I'm complaining.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.