Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The Iris Show

Today we drove into Blackheath to go to the 2014 Iris show which featured Iris's that had been entered from all over NSW. It's an Annual Event as one not to be missed if you live in the area. What greeted us was the most exquisite display of Iris's you could imagine. I can see why people are passionate about these beautiful flowers. They are just so delicate and in many cases the most vibrant of colours.

I was really impressed to hear that the judges had travelled all the way from the United States of America. Jim and Jean Morris and Thomas Johnson are all world renowned experts in the field of Irises. I was a bit cheeky and asked if I could take a photo of them for my Blipper friends in the USA.

I would love to grow Irises at Wombat Hollow but I'm afraid the environment is a little too harsh for them. I do have one water iris in a water bowl that is a regular gourmet delight for little Wally the Wallaby, so not much potential to cultivate them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.