Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Preparing for holidays

We have planned a very unusual holiday (for us) this year in that we're going to go to a hotel on a warm island and do NOTHING except lie in the sun and read books. So, in preparation, I've been selecting some books for the purpose. The title of this one caught my eye when I was in the library, and having been no-where of any import today, it's become the subject of my late in the day blip. A recommendation from Hilary Mantel, no less. I thought it worthy of consideration, and a suitable subject for a holiday read. As I'm posting this after our holiday return, I can confirm that it helped me pass a couple of days in the sunshine, but fell short of really engaging my attention. At the last minute, I left the hard copy book behind, and downloaded it on Kindle to save luggage weight. I needn't have worried... our tiny bags were under half the allotted weight when we checked in.

My book group supplied the other two titles which I read - one of which "The Girl With All The Gifts" by M R Carey was scary enough to give me nightmares, and the other of which, Longbourn by Jo Baker, didn't really seem like poolside reading once I got started. Three books in a week is a long way short of my holiday reading record of 14 books in a fortnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.