Polar Bear on Ice

What a day! 20 polar bears at one time in and near the 'bone pile', where the bones of all sorts of animals have been heaped - walrus, whale, fox - you name it!

Another wonderful day at Kaktovik, on Barter Island, Alaska.

We had a delightful wee arctic fox teasing the life out of a polar bear cub - the chasing that went on was hilarious! And bear cubs standing up and cuffing each other. Mumma bear feeding her cubs - and the list goes on!

This beautiful male bear is winning my Blip contest though. He is handsome personified and also was very keen to make out acquaintance; a little too keen really. I was glad to be in a boat. It would have been very difficult for him to have much closer as he'd have been right through the slurried ice. We backed off anyway!

I have never ever before romped through memory cards as i did today and am wondering if I've brought enough with me!

Thanks so much for your wonderful response to yesterdays little Polar Bear Family. It's an absolute delight to me that you liked it so much! Please accept this as a personal response for now - I've been lucky to have uploaded this; let's hope it'll publish. Till next time . . . . . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.