Marine Birds, by Elliot (2013)

The spring storm which rampaged over Sydney some days ago, reached Auckland yesterday, as a mere shadow of itself. Nevertheless there was much cloud, a little wind and ample rain; yesterday. By this morning only the clouds remained. Enough to prevent me from seeing the sunrise on my early morning run.

On Queens Wharf is this container decorated by a highly regarded street artist, whose full name is Elliot Francis Stewart. I have previously blipped his painting on the Mid-City steps in Elliott Street, and I have seen that he has been involved in a number of large collaborative paintings. I have also realised that he is the artist who did the big blue mural I blipped in June. Apparently it was a sponsored as a repeat of last year's All Fresco weekend by the K Road business association.

This painting of a young man fishing from the end of Queens Wharf at sunrise is the closest I got to continuing the Sunday Sunrise series.

A quiet day in the city. This afternoon, I took S to attend a poetry gathering at Avondale as part of a local (Avondale) arts festival. When I collected her afterwards, we visited a small exhibition by a local photographer, and I got encouraged to consider what I might be able to do.

ADDITIONAL
On this morning's run I checked the blue mural, and found Elliot's signature tucked away at the bottom.
Thanks to those who have recommended that I should count this as part of the Sunday Sunrise series. I have added the tag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.