Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Arizona Grown

An Arizona grown grapefruit. Thick yellow and orange marbled skin whose sole purpose in life is to protect the juicy, tart and pulpy fruit found within its thick skin. On the outside, a grapefruit is very plain and unassuming. On the inside, well, on the inside...there is a massive party going on and it's a party that I don't want to miss!

Today, I thoroughly enjoyed an Arizona grown grapefruit. I sliced it down the center and cut around the edges. I then cut around each slice to make a perfect triangular bite. At this point, some would add a touch a sugar. I do not. I like it plain and in this case, I like it 100% organic. The grapefruit is my favorite fruit, no questions asked. When it is not in season or doesn't have that tart bite that I am looking for, I can buy it in individual sealed cups. No sugar added. My husband used to think that I was crazy when I would choose to eat grapefruit sometimes multiple times a day......now, it is a race to the fridge or the fresh fruit bowl because he has become obsessed with them. I have to keep track of our numbers now so that when we start to get low, I can run out and replenish our supply. Neither of us ever want to sashay into the kitchen to be faced with the harsh reality that we are out of grapefruit.

The grapefruit taking center stage for today's blip comes all the way from sunny Arizona. My Mother and Father in-law sent them. They enjoy traveling down in their gorgeous RV and seeing all of the small little coastal towns along way before they start heading inland towards AZ. They are met with the most beautiful blue skies and dry desert landscapes. My Father in-law has gotten quite skilled at Pickle Ball and my Mother in-law loves to spend time outdoors painting with her watercolors. It is a life that we have only seen through pictures and heard of through their stories. This year, we will get to experience this treasured part of their lives first hand. We are going to fly down for a week long visit as a family in April and it is a trip that we are really looking forward to.

It's important for us to share this experience with them, as we are a tight knit family and this is an adventure that they both feel very passionate about. We have never been to the state of Arizona and it will be a week of exploration and widening our perceptions of the world. I am so excited to experience the culture and most importantly, to see the place that has created such wonderful memories for my in-laws. And swimming everyday, buzzing around in their golf cart, endless amounts of new material for blips, catching a ball game, visiting new cities, fresh squeezed orange juice and devouring these amazing grapefruit will make for a fantastic seven days.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.